maioability.blogg.se

Imac for recording
Imac for recording









With fans off, the hard drive is completely silent.

imac for recording

I probably won't be pushing it this hard for a while, if ever, with the way I work. The fan came on once in two weeks of tests when I pushed it hard over 80% cpu usage. That's easily >= 4 drives on the iMac to split between system, recording, samples. This adds the ability to expand the iMac to have for example: Apple internal drive, OWC internal SSD, add an eSATA external drive, external FW800 drive, run an interface daisy-chained off the FW800 drive. I never considered the iMacs until Apple offered the 2010 models. I'd recommend the 2010 iMacs over the 2009. Thanks!There's tons of great info that you might find useful in the >100 responses on this blog: That the apple SSDs are rather expensive. Is it possible to buy my own SSD and put it into the IMAC myself? I heard Is it possible to split the single FW800 port of the IMAC? I want to connect 2įirewire 800 devices! I have to connect the Apogee Duet AND an external HD How hot does the computer get? Acceptable? How loud is the fan noise of a IMac quad I7 ? I want to pull the trigger on a new IMac this weekend! If you haven't got a DAW I'd recommend Logic Studio and at last NI Komplete 7. You don't mention an audio interface on your setup. You can also use the internal HD for backup. You might want to use external for samples and projects backup. Thanks!!The faster drive should be used for audio. Which Sampler do you recommend that offers a good variety of useable and inspiring VIs and Synthies? Pads, Strings, Fx, Leads, Kicks, Oriental etc. Moreover, should I put the system and the plugins on the SSD, the Samples on the internal and the audio on the external HD? Which is a fast 1 or 2 TB external FW 800 supporting HD you can recommend? I will complement this with a third external FW 800 harddisk. I want an i7 quad, with 16 gb ram, a 256 gb SSD, and an 2TB Hd.

imac for recording

I guess the new Imacs are the best bang for buck. I want a straight-forward recording computer system for under 4000 $. Moreover, I will have my recording setup in an acoustically better environment, which is not near my CR. In the future I want to do recording and mixing in different locations, with different computer setups.īy splitting the recording and the mixing process I hope to get a better workflow.











Imac for recording